top of page
  • Writer's pictureEarth To Andre

Got Milk? Ottawa’s Filling Your Bowl with First-Ever Cereal Bar

When I was a wee one the second best place to visit after the toy store was the cereal aisle at our local grocery store. Awwww, who am I kidding? It’s still one of the best places despite it no longer being laced with boxes containing enough sugar to fell two African Bush Elephants or three kindergartners.


All photos by Jam Cereal

Count Chocula, Cap'n Crunch, Snap, Crackle and Pop were all fine acquaintances at my breakfast table. Yeah, Tony the Tiger, the Trix Rabbit and whatever that frog from Smacks was called were welcome too. Bring along Sugar Bear, Toucan Sam, Sonny, and Lucky the Leprechaun. I don’t mind sharing, even with Mikey, and he hates everything! Get a Life, Mikey!!!


You know, I think I may have learned to read by scanning the back of cereal boxes. No, not for nutritional value. Who needed that? I wanted to know if mybox’o’breaky had a free toy inside or at least something I could mail off to get one. When I was seven, Transformers, Nintendo and cereal was my life. Things were much simpler then…and tastier!


Now Ottawa is giving me back a sample of youthful goodness with Jam Cereal, the capital finally cashing in on the cereal café craze that’s been cropping up all over the place lately. I mean, we already got an oatmeal café (see Oat Couture Turns the Ultimate Comfort Food into the Ultimate Comfort Restaurant) so why not a spot for the other popular quick breakfast.


Let’s be honest, both Jerry Seinfeld and I know that cereal isn’t just for breakfast anymore. A 2012 report done by Mintel said that 46 percent of Americans choose cereal as a snacking go to while 42 percent say it’s A-OK to chow down on some for lunch or supper. While the supermarket biz takes in about $620 billion in revenue, $11 billion of that is made up of cereal. So, yeah, I’d say Ottawa is on the right track with a spot devoted to the stuff.


Jam Cereal had its soft opening last week at its 891 Bank Street location near Lansdowne Park.


“Y'all don't understand how happy I am that they opened a Jam Cereal in Ottawa. I..LOVE cereal. I need it,” exclaimed @taniiimontana over on Twitter, one of the many satisfied that started filling up bowls, boxes and even cups on New Year’s Day.


Jam (which you can take for Just Add Milk), has a lot of options to select from, not just the favorites you had when a bowl of cereal and some cartoons were your besties on a Saturday morn. If the common way of consumption isn’t enough you can snag some milk shakes, hot drinks and ice cream with your selection of toppings. You can even grab it in a to-go box! (No word on if there's a free toy inside, though) Toss on a bit of fruit or, if needing a little extra pep, something sugary. Mix and match for the ultimate overload!


When they detach me from the ceiling and my pupils return to normal dilation, I’ll tell you that Cinnamon Toast Crunch mixed with Oreo O’s and Lucky Charms marshmallows all topped with coconut shavings and strawberries is damn good eating!

Those who aren’t down with the lactose or you Vegan-folk have the option of soy and almond milks to name a few.


Now if they get a television in that place that plays a constant stream of DuckTales, Freakazoid, The Muppet Babies and Tiny Toons and I may take up permanent residence. The Wheaties Dunk-A-Balls's in your court, Jam Cereal, as well as the Froot Loops, Cocoa Puffs and Apple Jacks.


Just think:


Jam Cereal, where any time is Saturday Morning!

bottom of page